Clinical Trials Division

Clinical trials are undertaken at the Nairobi Station and the county stations of Thika, Kisumu, Kericho. The competencies that are established for clinical trials include, Data Management Capacity, Clinical Research Laboratories, Community Advisory Boards, Research Oversight / Governance, Trial Operational Management and Regulatory Support.

The Nairobi Station houses a 40 bed hospital fully equipped and supported by the laboratories, radiology, laundry and catering services.

In Thika, research is run through the Partners in Health and Research Development (PHRD) In Kisumu the trials are in partnership with the Obama Children’s Hospital with affiliate Malaria Diagnostic Unit and Vector Biology Unit. The Kombewa and Ahero Trials Centres are also here.

In Kericho in partnership with USAMRU-K, while in Baringo, the facility works in collaboration with DNDI to carryout research in Leishmaniasis disease.

  1. Dr. Simon Njenga
  2. Dr. Frederick Kirui
  3. Dr. Jane Mbui
  4. Mr. George Kirigi
  5. Dr. Phelgona Otieno